Get the Capitol Look: District Four Nails


Today I am going to show you how to do District Four inspired nail design.

PicMonkey Collage 2

1. First off cut and file nails to your liking, for myself I filed my nails to an almond shape which is (in my mind) a more Capitol like look. Next apply base coat and wait for it to dry. After the base coat is set apply 1 to 2 coats of the base color. For the base color I used Dare to Wear’s Pillow Talk.

2. Second, after the base color is nice and dry take a clean make up sponge, dip it into white nail polish color and gentle blot the color onto the tips of your nails. Make sure you mix up the angle or side you blot the white color on to make the design more interesting.

PicMonkey Collage 3

3. Now with a dotting tool I used Essie’s Where’s My Chauffeur to create a shell design on some of my nails. And on my other nails I used Sation’s Pink Parfait to create my stairfish. If you are having some trouble creating these shapes I  hope you find this video helpful :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2rFMwAI-LRk

PicMonkey Collage 4

4. Next, with a toothpick, I drew lined details with O.P.I.’s Gargantuan Green Grape on each shell. And with a white polish I dotted each starfish.

5. Lastly, take a Q-tip with acetone and clean the skin at the sides of your nails that has any extra polish on them. Finally apply a coat of top coat to add a layer of protection and shine. And now you’re finished!

Thank you everyone for reading this, I hope that you have found this tutorial helpful and inspires you to create your own Capitol nail looks!

~Pumpkin

Leave a comment